Dispatches from the Holy Land
Dispatches from the Holy Land
Monthly Update on Lauren's Life
0:00
-14:26

Monthly Update on Lauren's Life

The last weeks of the Crossroads Theatre Shed

In this new monthly feature, I share some updates from this last month of my life, focusing on the theatre festival, elections in Jerusalem, and a new opportunity for my career.

What I did not mention is the weather. I keep checking the forecast for the day when it will reach 20, and by golly, it’s supposed to finally hit that milestone tomorrow! It’s a whole different world when it’s warm outside.

I forgot to mention about the theatre festival that some of the plays, which were meant to be 10 minutes, got up to 35 minutes in rehearsal! Unfortunately scenes had to be cut, but in the end everything was exactly on time. Also, it was hard not being able to direct these plays, because my job was to help the youth direct the plays themselves.

My tip for anyone writing a 10-minute play that will be performed would be to minimize the number of scenes, the lighting and sound cues, and props. If I were to write a play now, it would be two people, one ten-minute scene, and chairs would be the only things on stage. Also, a lot of silent moments, and short lines, so that it’s easier on those who have to memorize the script. Some of these plays had dozens of props that needed to be made and transported and stored, many scenes to coordinate lighting for and for people to reappear wearing different clothes without time to change, different special lighting, and huge casts that were nearly impossible to schedule. They were so ambitious. But, what do I know? They succeeded anyway. Congrats to the youth! They are amazing.

0 Comments